## **Tuition Fees for International Students**

The maximum amount of tuition fees for the academic year 2014/2015 is € 2,208.00 plus regional tax of € 140.00 and sports tax of € 6.00 which comes to a total of € 2,354.

Non-EU students can request a reduction of the tuition fees based on country of origin at most up to  $\mathbf{\xi}$  **1,947.00** and for merit at most up to  $\mathbf{\xi}$  **261.00**.

In order to calculate how much you will have to pay, please read the following guidelines:

## Reduction based on country of origin

The reduction based on country of origin for non-EU international students is given by the following formula:

€ 1,947.00 - [€ 1,947.00 / country's coefficient given in attachment 3].

The country's coefficient of correction is relative to the value of the average national income adjusted for purchasing power up to a maximum of 1,947.00 unless there are also reductions due to merit.

For example, the coefficient of correction for the country of China is 6.87. The formula will then look like this:

The amount of 1,663.60 will then be subtracted from the total fees of €2,354 resulting in €690: THIS last amount is what the student will have to pay for the academic year 2014/2015.

The maximum reduction in the tuition due to financial circumstances  $(1,947 \in)$  is applied to international students coming from particularly impoverished countries (see attachment 2). When this reduction is applied, the maximum fee owed is equal to  $407 \in ($ which comes from this operation:  $\in 2,354 = 1947 )$ .

A student who belongs to a country listed on attachments 2 or 3 may have an even greater reduction if s/he meets all the necessary requirements for a reduction based on merit.

## Reduction based on merit

The reduction due to merit for students enrolled on the Bachelor's (*laurea*), Master's (*laurea magistrale*) or long single cycle degree programmes is determined as follows: €8.70 for each mark above 70/100 or €14.50 for each mark above 42/60, up to a maximum of €261.00. Students who have achieved a high school diploma or equivalent abroad will be awarded a mark for *la maturità* (High School exams) expressed in hundredths based on the declarations of value released by the responsible consulates.

Students signed up after the first year can benefit from reductions for merit for exams taken between the  $11^{th}$  of August, 2013 and the  $10^{th}$  of August, 2014 at the University of Pisa. The individual merit (V) of the student is evaluated using the average mark ( $V_m$ ) obtained in exams held in the above-named period, modified by multiplying a corrective coefficient as follows:

where

- $V_m$ =average mark of exams taken by the student in the period 11<sup>th</sup> of August 2013 10<sup>th</sup> of August 2014;
- V<sub>med k</sub> = average mark of the course k, calculated as the average of the Vm obtained by all students enrolled on that course k in the last three academic years.

If the  $V_{\text{med }k}$  is greater than 28, its value is changed to 28. The reduction for merit is defined for each degree programme according to the following scheme:

MARK 'V'/ ANNUAL CREDITS	V= 18 - 23	V= 23.01 – 27	V= 27.01 – 30 and honours
> 30 credits	€ 43.50	€ 87.00	€172.50
> 45 credits	€ 87.00	€ 172.50	€ 261.00

Please keep in mind that reductions do not apply to Free Mover students who are required to pay:

- € 400.00 per semester
- € 700.00 per academic year.

In the framework of specific internationalisation projects with foreign universities and institutions, certain exceptions are applied according to said agreements.

If you intend to request a scholarship from the DSU, you must review their website <a href="http://www.dsu.toscana.it">http://www.dsu.toscana.it</a> and make sure that any income documentation you bring has already been certified by the Italian embassy/consulate in your country).

## Ministerial Decree, 19<sup>th</sup> of February 2013 n. 118

by which countries with a "low human development index" were defined and characterised by problems of particularly serious underdevelopment, according to article 13, clause 5, of Ministerial Decree 9<sup>th</sup> of April 2011

Afghanistan

Angola

Bangladesh

Benin

Bhutan

Burkina Faso

Burundi

Cambodia

Central African Republic

Chad

Comoros

Congo, Democratic Republic of

Djibouti

**Equatorial Guinea** 

Eritrea

Ethiopia

Gambia

Guinea

Guinea Bissau

Haiti

Kenya

Kiribati

Korea, Dem. Rep.

Kyrgyz Rep.

Laos

Lesotho

Liberia

Madagascar

Malawi

Mali

Mauritania

Mozambique

Myanmar

Nepal

Niger

Rwanda

Samoa

Sao Tome & Principe

Senegal

Sierra Leone

Solomon Islands

Somalia

South Sudan

Sudan

Tanzania

Tajikistan

Timor-Leste

Togo

Tuvalu

Uganda

Vanuatu

Yemen

Zambia

Zimbabwe



Ministerial Decree, 23<sup>rd</sup> of April 1999

Albania	7.07	Lebanon	4.0
Algeria	3.59	Libya	3.
Antigua/Barbuda	2.21	Macedonia	4.9
Argentina	2.37	Malaysia	2.1
Armenia	9.14	Maldives (islands)	5.
Australia	1.03	Mauritius (islands)	1.5
Azerbaijan	13.79	Mexico	2.9
Bahamas	1.28	Moldova	13.0
Bahrain	1.22	Mongolia	5.1
Barbados	1.78	Morocco	5
Belarus	4.59	Namibia	4.9
Belize	3.59	New Zealand	1.1
Bolivia	7.71	Nicaragua	10.9
Botswana	3.6	Nigeria	26.3
Brazil	3.4	Oman	2.1
Brunei	0.65	Pakistan	9.1
Cameroon	8.57	Panama	3.2
Canada	0.92	Papua New Guinea	8.0
Cape Verde	7.72	Paraguay	5.6
Chile	2.03	Peru	5.2
China (People's Republic of China)	6.87	Qatar	1.0
Colombia	3.18	Republic of South Africa	4.6
Congo	7.9	Russia (Federation)	4.4
Costa Rica	3.38	Saint Kitts and Nevis	1.9
Cuba	6.51	Saint Lucia	3.0
Dominica	3.14	Saint Vincent	3.3
Dominican Republic	5.14	Saudi Arabia	2.3
Ecuador	4.38	Seychelles	2.0
Egypt	5.27	Singapore	0.8
El Salvador	7.73	South Korea (Republic of Korea)	1.7
Fiji (Island)	3.28	Sri Lanka	5.9
Gabon	5.36	Suriname	4.1
Georgia	14.52	Swaziland	6.8
Ghana	9.93	Switzerland	0.0
Grenada	3.72	Syria	3.1
Guatemala	5.48	Taiwan	0.8
Guyana	6.29	Thailand	2.6
Honduras	10.2	The Philippines	7
Hong Kong, China	0.88	Trinidad and Tobago	2.:
celand	0.96	Tunisia	3.8
ndia	14.19	Turkey	3.6
Indonesia	5.08	Turkmenistan	8
Iran	3.68	Ukraine	8.5
Iraq	6.36	United Arab Emirates	1.3
Israel	1.21	United States of America	0.7
Ivory Coast	11.65	Uruguay	2.9
Jamaica	5.31	Uzbekistan	8.4
Japan	0.92	Venezuela	2.4
Jordan/Palestine	4.82	Vietnam	16.3
Kazakhstan	6.64	Yugoslavia <sup>1</sup>	3.9
Kuwait	0.85	Zaire	47.0
Latvia	6.16		

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Serbia, Montenegro, and Bosnia and Herzegovina